Skip to content

Reading With Sea

A book club on your own time

Hi,

If you are lurking around the site, but aren’t reading the selected book of the month it is okay and I want to encourage you to say hi to us and let us know you are out there and if you are reading something tell us what it is.  The book you are reading may very well sound interesting to someone else.  Getting good book recommendations is a great thing.  No one of us can stay on top of all the good reads out there alone, so share what you are reading and what your interests, likes, dislikes, etc. are.

You can simply respond by listing the book you are reading presently or talk about something you recently heard about that sounded good or what books you have purchased but are simply sitting in a stack or on your nightstand or upon your shelf.  You can complain about not having enough time to read.  You could tell us where you usually read (commuting to work on a bus, in bed before you sleep, etc.)  If there are questions you still have about the reading group or hesitations you can speak your mind about those as well.  The more things I hear the better this group can be and if you feel like this book club is not really your thing… I have to be honest with you:  it’s probably because I haven’t heard from you.  This is a new thing, which means you can voice your opinion and see changes that reflect your personal tastes.  There is actually room for that here, believe it or not.

I will start:  I finished the book for this month, Then We Came to the End a couple of days ago.  I read the last page, closed the book, put it back on the shelf and immediately picked up another.  Now, I am reading What is the What by Dave Eggers.  This author has to be one of the voices of our generation.  His style is unique, his ambition is admirable and the stories he writes are compelling reads that really get to the readers.  I have a stack of books on my nightstand (which you can view on the “Sea’s Reads” page) and other stacks of to be read books everywhere I turn.  I feel like I can never get enough time to read, but it is also hard to choose which books to read during the time that I do have because I am an idealist and I want every story to reach out and grab me.

Your turn to talk now.

Read on,
Sea

