Skip to content

Reading With Sea

A book club on your own time

At last, I have finished What is the What by Dave Eggers.  I do not know why it felt like it took me so long to read this book.  Perhaps, because of my excitement to have this story complete and with me.  Whatever it was, I am now done and I loved this book.  I cried at the end.  It was a lovely story, beautiful, really and I absolutely recommend it to everyone.  It made my heart swell. It gave me much life.  I am adding it to our group raffle page and I hope that my enthusiasm for it will inspire you to vote for it to be read by our group at a future month.

Favorite quotes from What is the What:
“There is a perception in the West that refuge camps are temporary.”

“But everyone disappears, no matter who loves them.”

“I will not wait to love as best as I can.  We thought we were young and that there would be time to love well sometime in the future.  This is a terrible way to think.  It is no way to live, to wait to love.”

“When there is pleasure, there is often abandon, and mistakes are made.”

Today, I will begin with Joan Didion’s The Year of Wishful Thinking. It is only 227 pages long and so I plan to have it finished by Friday night late or early Saturday morning.  I am keeping Thursday as my goal day to be transitioning to a new read.

What are you reading today?  How is your week reading going?  What transitions are you making this Thursday?

Read on,
Sea

