Skip to content

Reading With Sea

A book club on your own time

This is what I am doing this morning – meandering.  Making mental loops, while enveloping spaces between my desk, the kitchen coffee pot and the heater, which together embody an inveterate custom.

I am reading The Catcher in the Rye, and The Here and Now by Richard Cohen.  Normally, I do not read two books at a time since, logistically, this is impossible.  Either one book or the other seems to dominant my mind and negotiate its way into my feeble hands so why read two at a time?  This dual reading endeavor only leaves the reader feeling guilty that the second book, the recessive gene only determined recessive when in the presence of one that is clearly dominant, lays there, alone, closed from cover to cover and acting all manipulatively withdrawn.  Competition brings inevitable distinction between the winner and the loser – two natural, imminent categories of competition.

This is my first Robert Cohen book.  There was something interesting about the cover of this novel that compelled my fingers to investigate.  Before I regained consciousness I was twenty pages in and lost in what I am referring to as the Cohen spell and away I sailed on his sentence structure and fructuous command of his linguist enchantment.

There is a quote on the front cover of this novel, which I wish to refer on to you:

“Cohen reveals the perilous depths hidden beneath ordinary life, the sudden yearnings that move us… and he accomplishes this with brilliance, precision, and humor.” – San Francisco Chronicle Book Review

This judgement is one I contend to with the same force that I would agree with a person who stated wood floors are better than carpeted surfaces or that clapping can get annoying after two minutes or less.  I am reading this novel with ease.  Perhaps the easiest thing to be agreeable is ease.  Ease is easy.

As this Sunday develops then all too covertly encloses around the dusk, my moments will be lived between these pages, which then will slip onto the surfaces of cellulose filled, alphabetically sorted and the timeless appeal of the Moleskine book journal.  Accompanied by cups of steaming and insightful coffee and the labyrinth of laundry day endeavors this is a good reading day.

Go forth and read,
Sea

